When Sharegate detects a SharePoint site that has been inactive for at least 3 months, it sends an email to the site's Owner(s) to ask them if it can be cleaned up.
If you just received the below email, you may have some questions.
What is Sharegate?
Sharegate is a software used by your IT Administrator to help them manage your organisation's Office 365 environment.
Why am I receiving this email?
You received this email because your IT Administrator uses Sharegate to help them clean unused SharePoint sites. Sharegate has detected that you are the owner of site that has been inactive for at least 3 months, and needs your approval to notify your IT Administrator that it can be cleaned up.
What happens with my site if I select that I'm done with it?
Your IT Administrator will be notified that it can be cleaned up and they will have a few options:
- The recommended action is to download the content and then delete the site. This way, all the files will be saved at a location determined by your IT Administrator in case someone needs to retrieve them. The rest of the site (list items, workflows, etc.) will be lost.
- They can delete the site without downloading the content.
- They can ignore Sharegate's recommendation and keep the site in place.
How does Sharegate determine that a site is inactive?
A site will be considered inactive if none of its content has been modified or viewed during the last 3 months. If a site has subsites, all its subsites must be inactive for it to be considered inactive.