When Sharegate detects an Office 365 Group that has been inactive for at least 3 months, it sends an email to the group's Owner(s) to ask them if it can be cleaned up.
If you just received the below email, you may have some questions.
What is Sharegate?
Sharegate is a software used by your IT Administrator to help them manage your organisation's Office 365 environment.
Why am I receiving this email?
You received this email because your IT Administrator uses Sharegate to help them clean unused Office 365 Groups. Sharegate has detected that you are the owner of an Office 365 group that has been inactive for at least 3 months, and needs your approval to notify your IT Administrator that it can be cleaned up.
What happens with my Office 365 Group if I select that I'm done with it?
Your IT Administrator will be notified that it can be cleaned up and they will have a few options:
- The recommended action is to download the content and then delete the Office 365 Group. This way, all the files in the site associated with the Office 365 Group will be saved at a location determined by your IT Administrator in case someone needs to retrieve them. The rest of the Office 365 Group (emails, calendar, Teams conversations, Planner tasks, Yammer, etc.) will be lost.
- They can delete the Office 365 Group without downloading the content.
- They can ignore Sharegate's recommendation, and keep the Office 365 Group in place.
How does Sharegate determine that an Office 365 Group is inactive?
An Office 365 Group will be considered inactive if there has been no activity during the last 3 months in the different products associated with the group. More precisely:
- No content was modified or viewed in the SharePoint site.
- No Planner task was created.
- For public Office 365 Groups only:
- No email was sent or received by the group.
- No event was created in the calendar.
- No calendar event occurred (other than recurring events).