Below are all the known limitations associated with the Task Widget.
When you cancel a task in the Task Widget as it is running, you will lose all data.
You can see the task in All Tasks, but partial results will not be available.
There is no solution or workaround to this issue. If you need the data associated to a task, you must let it run until it is completed.