Remove all Limited access permissions granted to a target location.
The Limited Access permission level is assigned automatically when you provide access to one specific item in a site or subsite with broken inheritance. If the permissions on the specific item are removed, the Limited Access permission level granted previously remains but is no longer required.
The Clean Limited Access tool allows you to get rid of unused Limited Access permission levels that no longer relate to any existing permissions on site elements.
Find out more about SharePoint and the Limited Access permission level here.
Clean Limited Access
Target the item(s) you would like to clean limited access on from your Explorer tree.
Select Clean Limited Access from the Quick Actions menu in the right pane, under Security.
You will now see the Clean Limited Access page.
This table displays the targets of the clean limited access action. Please use this information to confirm that you are cleaning limited access in the right location.
Click Clean Now.
You will now see your results page (any warnings or errors, if applicable, will appear on a separate tab).