When importing files to SharePoint, Sharegate allows you to delete one or more file or folder from destination SharePoint environment.
- To delete the selected item(s), right click in the explorer and choose "Delete".
- You will be prompted to confirm the deletion of the item(s). Choose "Continue" to proceed.
- The selected item(s) will be sent to the Recycle Bin (if applicable) and will be removed from the explorer in Sharegate.
- You can also delete files and folders on your file system or shared network drive.
- If the file was on a network drive, it will be permanently deleted.
- If the file you deleted was on your hard drive, you will be able to find it in the Recycle Bin of your computer.
Recycling files and folders in a Document Library
Recycling files and folders is only available in SharePoint 2007 and later (unless otherwise specified).
In Sharegate, the items that can be sent to the Recycle Bin are as follow:
- Document Sets (2010 and later)
All recycled files and folders will be sent to the Recycle Bin of the user connected to SharePoint with Sharegate.
Deleting files and folders in a Document Library
Sharegate will always recycle files and folders, unless using SharePoint 2003, which will permanently delete the selected item(s).