When copying Site Objects, Sharegate allows you to delete one or more items from your source or destination SharePoint environment.
Depending on the type of Site Object, the item(s) will be sent to the Recycle Bin or permanently deleted.
- To delete the selected item(s), right click in the explorer and choose "Delete".
- You will be prompted to confirm the deletion of the site object(s). Choose "Continue" to proceed.
- The selected site object(s) will be sent to the Recycle Bin (if applicable) and will be removed from the explorer in Sharegate.
Recycling Site Objects
Recycling Site Objects is only available in SharePoint 2007 and later (unless otherwise specified).
In Sharegate, the site objects that can be sent to the Recycle Bin are as follow:
- Lists and Libraries
- Workflows (2010 and later)
- Subsites (2010 and later)
- Site Collections (2010 SP1 and later)
All recycled site objects will be sent to the Recycle Bin of the user connected to SharePoint with Sharegate, except Subsites, which will be sent to the Site Collection Recycle Bin.
Deleted site collections can be restored through the recycle bin in the central administration for SharePoint Online. To restore deleted site collections in On-Premises SharePoint environments, you must be connected on the Web Front-End server and use the SharePoint PowerShell command "Restore-SPDeletedSite".
Deleting Site Objects
All Site Objects are permanently deleted in SharePoint 2003.
In Sharegate, the Site Objects that can be permanently deleted are as follow:
- Content Types
- Site Columns
- Permission Levels
- Workflows (2007)
- Managed Metadata
- Term Groups (and all Term Sets under the selected Term Groups)
- Term Sets
- Subsites (2007 and earlier)
- Site Collections (prior to 2010 SP1)